top of page

Governing Body

School governors are like a board of directors who have the responsibility of managing the school in accordance with national legislation, local requirements, and the wishes and needs of the parents/carers of the children at the school. They meet at least once a term and parents are welcome to come along and listen to what goes on.

School governors have legal duties, powers and responsibilities. They have the duty to know what is going on in school and they regularly check and contribute to policies and monitor curriculum areas.  Sometimes people attend meetings as associate governors or to deliver reports to governors but only members of the governing body have voting rights.

Governors are appointed to help decide what is taught set standards of behaviour interview and elect staff monitor how the school budget is spent.

School governors are parents, staff from the school, local council representatives, community representatives, and business people.


Governors of Rowan School 2022-23

Chair of Governors: Dean Linkhorn (Safeguarding)

Vice Chair of Governors: Paul Sharpe

Head Teacher:  Carla Ribeiro

Deputy Head Teacher : Zoe Poonawala

Staff Representative: Jane Elston

Parent Governor: Vacancy

Parent Governor: Lucy Birch

Parent Governor: Carmel Breffit

Parent Governor: Sreedevi Patil


Observer who may deputise for the head teacher: Zoe Poonawala

Co-opted Governor: Alan Dury

Co-opted Governor: Vacancy

Co-opted Governor: Christina Stark

Co-opted Governor: Grace Hallam

Co-opted Governor: Dyane Spencer

Local Authority Governor: Paul Sharpe

bottom of page